GPT Image 2
A credit-based web app wrapping OpenAI's GPT Image 2 model for text-to-image generation at multiple resolutions.
Are you the maker? Claim this listing to keep info, pricing and screenshots current. Verified via your tool's domain email.

Solo creators who want browser access to OpenAI's GPT Image 2 model without setting up an API account will find gpt-image.io functional and reasonably priced at $19.99/month for 1,040 credits. The catch is that this is a third-party wrapper, not an OpenAI product, and the per-credit cost is higher than calling the underlying API directly at scale. Anyone generating more than a few hundred images monthly, or needing API access, should go straight to OpenAI or a more established platform like Leonardo.Ai.
What is GPT Image 2?
GPT Image 2 is a next-gen AI image generator with razor-sharp text rendering, photorealistic output, and deep world knowledge. Try GPT Image 2 free online. Describe the image you want in a text prompt and generate it right in your browser. It is useful for posters, product shots, and illustrations that need clear, readable text.
How we scored GPT Image 2
Capability scores 14 because the tool is a pass-through to OpenAI's API with no proprietary model, no image editing pipeline, no API access, and no team features. Leonardo.Ai and Midjourney both offer capabilities this tool simply does not have. Ease of use scores 19 because the browser-only interface with no setup required is genuinely low-friction, and the pricing page's per-resolution generation estimates are unusually transparent. Value scores 13 because the $19.99/month Starter plan delivers 1,040 credits at $0.019 each, a markup over direct OpenAI API costs, with no free ongoing tier and no enterprise path for growth. Delivery scores 12 because the site makes no false claims, but the promotional pricing on the Standard plan lacks a disclosed end date, no user sentiment data exists to verify output quality claims, and the tool's core promise of 'GPT Image 2 access' is something any user could get more cheaply and flexibly through OpenAI directly.
Pros and cons
What we liked
- Transparent per-resolution generation estimates printed directly on each pricing tier, so buyers know exactly how many images they get before subscribing.
- Supports four distinct models (GPT Image 2, GPT Image original, Nano Banana 2, Nano Banana Pro) under one credit balance, giving users flexibility to trade quality for volume.
- Free starter credits let new users test photorealistic output and text rendering quality before entering a credit card, with no stated expiry on the trial.
Where it falls short
- This is a third-party wrapper around OpenAI's API, not a proprietary model or editing pipeline. Users paying $99.99/month for the Pro plan are essentially buying API access at a markup, with no unique model capability that could not be accessed directly through OpenAI.
- No API access, team seats, or workflow integrations are listed anywhere on the site. The tool is strictly a manual, one-prompt-at-a-time web interface, which rules it out for any automated or collaborative production use.
- The Standard monthly plan is listed at $39.99/month on the pricing page but the schema.org structured data shows a $69.99 original price crossed out, suggesting the current price is a promotional rate whose duration is not disclosed.
Key features
GPT Image 2 pricing
Free starter credits available for new users with no card required. Paid monthly plans run $19.99/month (Starter, 1,040 credits), $39.99/month (Standard, 2,800 credits plus 700 bonus), and $99.99/month (Pro, 6,500 credits plus 1,200 bonus). One-off credit packs start at $9.99. Annual plans save up to 50%: Starter at $119.88/year, Standard at $299.88/year, Pro at $599.88/year.
| Plan | Price | Who it is for |
|---|---|---|
| Free (Starter Credits) | Free | Free starter credits for new users to test prompt quality, image editing, text rendering, and photorealistic output. Exact credit amount not specified on the pricing page; watermarks likely apply. |
| Starter Mini (Credit Pack) | $9.99 | One-time credit pack. No subscription required. Watermark-free downloads. |
| Starter Pack (Credit Pack) | $29.99 | One-time credit pack. Watermark-free downloads. |
| Standard Pack (Credit Pack) | $59.99 | One-time credit pack. Watermark-free downloads. |
| Pro Pack (Credit Pack) | $99.99 | One-time credit pack. Watermark-free downloads. |
| Starter Monthly | $19.99/mo | 1,040 credits/month at $0.019 per credit. Approximately 148 GPT Image 2 generations at 1K, 86 at 2K, or 57 at 4K. Watermark-free downloads. Cancel anytime. |
| Standard Monthly | $39.99/mo | 2,800 credits plus 700 bonus credits/month at $0.014 per credit. Approximately 400 GPT Image 2 generations at 1K, 233 at 2K, or 155 at 4K. Watermark-free downloads. Cancel anytime. |
| Pro Monthly | $99.99/mo | 6,500 credits plus 1,200 bonus credits/month at $0.015 per credit. Approximately 928 GPT Image 2 generations at 1K, 541 at 2K, or 361 at 4K. Watermark-free downloads. Cancel anytime. |
| Starter Annually | $119.88/yr | Annual equivalent of the Starter plan. Saves up to 50% versus monthly billing. |
| Standard Annually | $299.88/yr | Annual equivalent of the Standard plan. Saves up to 50% versus monthly billing. |
| Pro Annually | $599.88/yr | Annual equivalent of the Pro plan. Saves up to 50% versus monthly billing. |
Pricing reflects what we saw at time of review (2026-10). Always confirm current pricing on the tool's own site.
Who should use GPT Image 2?
This tool fits a solo creator or small-business owner who wants to generate product imagery, social graphics, or poster designs with readable embedded text, and who does not want to manage an OpenAI API account. The free starter credits make it low-risk to test before committing to the $19.99/month Starter plan.
Anyone generating images at volume, building an automated workflow, or working on a team should look elsewhere. Leonardo.Ai offers a more mature platform with its own model training, image-to-video features, and a well-documented free tier that goes well beyond a single sign-up bonus. Developers who are comfortable with API calls will find the direct OpenAI API cheaper per image at any meaningful scale.
Skip it if: High-volume users or developers who can use the OpenAI API directly at lower per-image cost
GPT Image 2 alternatives
Frequently asked questions
Is GPT Image 2 at gpt-image.io an official OpenAI product?+
No. It is a third-party web application that wraps OpenAI's GPT Image 2 API. OpenAI's own products are ChatGPT and the OpenAI API platform; gpt-image.io is an independent service built on top of those.
How many images can I generate on the Starter plan?+
The Starter Monthly plan ($19.99/month) includes 1,040 credits. That translates to approximately 148 GPT Image 2 images at 1K resolution, 86 at 2K, or 57 at 4K, as listed on the pricing page.
Can I use generated images commercially?+
The pricing page states that watermark-free downloads on paid plans are practical for professional use, and directs users to review the terms for full usage rules. Check the Terms of Service directly before using images in commercial campaigns.
Is there a free plan?+
New users receive free starter credits to test the tool before buying. The exact credit amount is not specified on the pricing page. There is no ongoing free tier with monthly credit replenishment.
What is the cheapest way to try the service?+
The Starter Mini one-time credit pack costs $9.99 and is the lowest-priced paid entry point. New users also get free starter credits at sign-up before spending anything.
Does the site offer API access or team plans?+
No API access or team/enterprise plans are listed on the pricing page. The tool is a manual web interface only. Developers needing API access should use the OpenAI API directly.
More AI Image Generators tools
See all categoriesGet your tool listed on 300+ directories.
One listing here is a strong start. But the founders who get discovered everywhere are listed everywhere. Our sister site, Free AI Directories, submits your tool to 300+ AI directories for you, every single one by hand, by a real person.
It is a one-time payment of $49, no subscription, and you can follow along as the submissions land. Prefer the slow route? The same site keeps a free list of 450+ directories you can work through yourself.
Get my tool listed on 300+ directoriesOne-time payment, no subscription · 100% human submissions · Free list of 450+ directories included.