Free AI Voice Generators
For text-to-speech, ElevenLabs (86) offers 10,000 credits a month on its free plan, covering realistic voice generation without a card. For voice cloning, ElevenLabs handles that job too, but since each tool may appear once, TTSMaker (68) is the pick for general narration with 20,000 characters a week and commercial use included at no charge. Murf AI is not in the main table because its free access is a one-time trial with no downloads and no refill, making it a trial rather than a genuine free plan.
Free AI voice generators compared
| Tool | Score | Refills | Free amount | About how many minutes | Watermark | Max res. | Commercial use | Sign-up | Paid from | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 86 | Monthly | 10,000 credits a month | About 10 minutes a month | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Account, no card | $5/mo | 4 Nov 2026 | |
| 72 | Monthly | 3 credits a month3 credits per month or 5 minutes of free audio and video content per monthSources conflictsource A · source B | About 5 minutes of audio and video a month | Yes, visible | 720p | No | Account, no card | $28/user/mo, about $21/user/mo billed annually | 4 Nov 2026 | |
| 68 | Daily | 20,000 characters a day with Lite Voices, listening only (no MP3 download) | About 20 minutes a day of listening, no download | Not stated | Not stated | No | Not stated | $13.90/mo or $79/yr | 4 Nov 2026 | |
| 68 | Weekly | 20,000 characters a week; selected voices unlimited | About 20 minutes a week | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | No account | $12.99/mo | 4 Nov 2026 | |
| 66 | Daily | 10 credits a day, up to 100 characters per generationCredits reset at 00:00 UTC | About 1 one-minute clip a day | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Account, no card | $14.27/month | 4 Nov 2026 |
Sorted by Editor's Score. “About how many minutes” is worked out from the free credits and the cost of one one-minute clip at the lowest standard setting. “Not stated” means the vendor's page does not say.
Free trials and one-time credits
These tools let you try them without paying, but the free credits do not refill. Once they are gone, you pay. We list them so you know before you sign up.
| Tool | Score | What you get | Why it isn't free | Paid from | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Murf AI | 83 | 10 minutes of voice generation, no downloads. About 10 minutes in total, once | Time-limited trial | $19/mo | 4 Nov 2026 |
Best free pick by job
ElevenLabs
86Free plan limit: 10,000 credits a month, about 10 minutes a month.
TTSMaker
68TTSMaker covers solo creators and educators who need narration with commercial use rights included at no charge, and the free tier is permanent and requires no account to get started.
Free plan limit: 20,000 characters a week, about 20 minutes a week; selected voices unlimited.
How many clips do the free credits buy?
Pick a tool and a size. The numbers come from the same table, so they update when a free plan changes.
Only tools whose free plan includes a model with a documented cost per one-minute clip appear here (ElevenLabs: standard text to speech (1 credit per character); NaturalReader: Lite Voices (about 1,000 characters per minute); TTSMaker: standard voice (about 1,000 characters per minute); British Accent Generator: Convert to speech (10 credits)). Larger, higher-quality or retried generations use more.
Completely free: run a model on your own computer
Hosted free voice plans cap characters or minutes because every generation costs the vendor compute. Open-source text-to-speech models such as Piper or Coqui run on your own computer with no character limit, no watermark and no queue, but they need setup and the voices are fewer. We list them only when reviewed like any other tool.
What free really means
A real free plan tops your credits up every day, week or month. One-time credits are a trial, however they are labelled.
Most free plans add a visible logo. Some also add invisible AI marking, such as Google's SynthID, which you cannot see or remove. We list the two separately.
“No card needed” still usually means creating an account. We show both.
Free users often wait behind paid ones, and unused credits usually vanish at the end of the day or month.
Many free plans are for personal use only. If the vendor does not say, we show “Not stated”.
How we pick
- Every tool has been reviewed by a person and scores 50 or more.
- It generates speech, singing or voices from text or a recording.
- It has a real free plan: no payment, no time limit, and credits that refill (or no cap at all). Trials and one-time credits go in their own table.
- We checked the free plan on the vendor's own page within the last 60 days. If we have not, the tool drops off until we do.
- Every fact comes from the vendor's own page, with the date we checked. Where two official pages disagree, we show both and label it "Sources conflict".
- Tools marked "Checked by download" were confirmed by our team making and downloading one free clip on the date shown. We do not claim that for any other tool.
- Where the vendor page does not state a watermark, resolution or sign-up fact but the download showed it, the cell shows what we found, labelled "download check".
- Nobody can pay to appear here or to rank higher, and we do not sell a voice generator.
Common questions
What is the best free AI voice generator?
It depends on the job. ElevenLabs (86) is the pick for text-to-speech, TTSMaker (68) is the pick for voice cloning.
Is ElevenLabs free?
Yes, ElevenLabs has a free plan: 10,000 credits a month, refilled monthly.
Which AI voice generator gives free credits every day?
On this page: NaturalReader (68) and British Accent Generator (66). NaturalReader: 20,000 characters a day with Lite Voices, listening only (no MP3 download); British Accent Generator: 10 credits a day, up to 100 characters per generation.
How many free voice clips can I make?
Per tool, on the free plan: ElevenLabs about 10 minutes a month; Fliki about 5 minutes of audio and video a month; NaturalReader about 20 minutes a day of listening, no download; TTSMaker about 20 minutes a week; British Accent Generator about 1 one-minute clip a day. Figures are worked out from the free credits and the cost of one one-minute clip at the lowest standard setting.
Is there a free AI voice generator without a watermark?
Fliki (72) adds a visible logo on the free plan. ElevenLabs, NaturalReader, TTSMaker and British Accent Generator do not state whether the free plan is watermarked.
Can I use free AI voice clips commercially?
TTSMaker (68) allows commercial use on the free plan. Fliki and NaturalReader limit the free plan to personal use. Where a vendor does not say, the table shows Not stated.
Do I need a credit card for a free AI voice generator?
TTSMaker needs no account at all. ElevenLabs, Fliki and British Accent Generator need an account but no card. NaturalReader does not state it.
Which free AI voice generator needs no sign-up?
TTSMaker (68) works without an account.