LittleStory
An AI bedtime story app for kids 2 - 10 that builds each story from a photo, a voice note, and a one-line parent prompt.
Are you the maker? Claim this listing to keep info, pricing and screenshots current. Verified via your tool's domain email.



LittleStory is the right pick for parents who want bedtime stories rooted in their child's actual day, not a keyword prompt. Its credit-based pricing is cheap per story but offers no subscription path, which gets expensive for daily use. Families who want unlimited stories or a richer back-catalog should look elsewhere.
What is LittleStory?
LittleStory is an AI-powered bedtime story app developed by ReadBuddy, available on Android and the web, aimed at families with children aged 2 to 10. Parents supply a photo, an optional voice recording of their child, and a short note; the app generates a fully illustrated, narrated story from those inputs, with artwork in Watercolor, Pixar-style 3D, or Cartoon styles and narration available in a cloned parent voice or one of four built-in narrator voices.
The app organizes content by age band, adjusting reading level and vocabulary for three ranges: 2 - 4, 5 - 7, and 8 - 10. Stories are saved to a personal library and can be replayed with playback speed control, 15-second skip navigation, and optional background music. New accounts receive free welcome credits; additional credits are purchased in packs rather than through a recurring subscription.
How we scored LittleStory
Capability scores 18 because the photo-reading and voice-cloning combination is genuinely differentiated for its niche, but five fixed story themes and no custom-theme input cap the creative range compared to more flexible AI story tools. Ease of use scores 20 because the three-step Moment workflow is clearly designed for non-technical parents, with a Surprise Me fallback that removes all configuration friction. Value scores 13 because the credit-pack model (100 credits for $1.99, 300 for $4.99) with no subscription option means a family generating a story every night has no way to cap monthly spend, making it more expensive than flat-rate competitors for regular use. Delivery scores 15 because no substantial independent user review corpus was found for this specific app at review time, the iOS listing could not be confirmed despite the family app market skewing heavily toward iPhone, and the per-story credit cost is not disclosed publicly, which makes it hard for buyers to evaluate the real cost before committing.
Pros and cons
What we liked
- Photo-to-story pipeline is genuinely distinctive: the app reads scene details from the uploaded image and incorporates them into the plot, not just as a backdrop.
- Voice cloning from a 10 to 30 second sample means a parent or grandparent can narrate any future story without being present, a feature most competing apps charge a premium subscription for.
- Three age-band levels (2 - 4, 5 - 7, 8 - 10) with automatic vocabulary and sentence-length adjustment mean one account can serve siblings of different ages without manual configuration.
Where it falls short
- No subscription tier exists: at $1.99 for 100 credits and $4.99 for 300 credits, a family generating a story every night will pay more per month than most flat-rate competitors charge, with no way to cap the cost.
- The app is listed on Google Play but an iOS App Store listing was not confirmed at review time, which cuts off a large share of the family app market that skews heavily toward iPhone.
- Story themes are limited to five fixed options (Adventure, Friendship, Learning, Fantasy, Nature); parents cannot define a custom theme or scenario beyond the one-line note, which constrains the range of stories the app can produce.
Key features
LittleStory pricing
Free welcome credits on sign-up. Additional credits sold in two packs: 100 credits for $1.99 and 300 credits for $4.99. No subscription tier listed on the pricing page.
| Plan | Price | Who it is for |
|---|---|---|
| Welcome Credits | Free | A starter credit balance provided at sign-up at no cost, enough to generate initial stories and evaluate the app before purchasing. |
| 100 Credits Pack | $1.99 | 100 credits purchased as a one-time pack; no subscription, no expiry date stated on the pricing page. |
| 300 Credits Pack | $4.99 | 300 credits purchased as a one-time pack; better per-credit rate than the 100-credit pack. |
Pricing reflects what we saw at time of review (2026-10). Always confirm current pricing on the tool's own site.
Who should use LittleStory?
LittleStory fits parents who want bedtime to feel specific to their child's day. A parent who took photos at a birthday party, a beach trip, or a first day of school can turn those moments into that night's story rather than reaching for a generic tale. The voice cloning feature is genuinely useful for a traveling parent or a grandparent in another city: record a 10 to 30 second sample once, and the app narrates future stories in that voice.
Parents who want to generate a story every single night without watching a credit balance will find the pay-per-pack model frustrating. For that use case, Tunmire (in our directory) covers broader creative writing workflows on a token model that may suit prolific creators better. Educators or writers looking for general AI writing assistance rather than a child-specific story tool should look at Grammarly, also in our directory, which handles a much wider range of writing tasks.
Skip it if: Families wanting unlimited stories on a flat monthly subscription
Tags
Frequently asked questions
How much does each story actually cost?+
The pricing page lists credits in two packs: 100 credits for $1.99 and 300 credits for $4.99. The exact credit cost per story is not stated on the public pricing page, so the per-story price depends on how many credits a single generation consumes.
Is there a subscription plan?+
No subscription tier appears on the pricing page as of October 2026. Credits are purchased in one-time packs only.
Does the app work on iPhone?+
The pricing page and homepage link to Google Play. An iOS App Store listing was not confirmed at review time; check the App Store directly before purchasing if you use an iPhone.
How does voice cloning work?+
You record a 10 to 30 second voice sample once inside the app. LittleStory uses that recording to narrate any future story in your voice. Four built-in narrator voices are available if you prefer not to clone your own.
What age range does LittleStory cover?+
The app targets children aged 2 to 10, split into three bands: 2 - 4, 5 - 7, and 8 - 10. Vocabulary, sentence structure, and story length adapt to the selected band.
Can I save and replay stories?+
Yes. Every generated story is saved to a Story Library, filterable by today, this week, or this month, and can be replayed at any time with the built-in bedtime player.
More AI Writing & Content tools
See all categoriesGet your tool listed on 300+ directories.
One listing here is a strong start. But the founders who get discovered everywhere are listed everywhere. Our sister site, Free AI Directories, submits your tool to 300+ AI directories for you, every single one by hand, by a real person.
It is a one-time payment of $49, no subscription, and you can follow along as the submissions land. Prefer the slow route? The same site keeps a free list of 450+ directories you can work through yourself.
Get my tool listed on 300+ directoriesOne-time payment, no subscription · 100% human submissions · Free list of 450+ directories included.